Site Search

Photo by Tamara Gallegos

A. Van Jordan

Photo by Tamara Gallegos

A. Van Jordan is the author of four collections: Rise, which won the PEN/Oakland Josephine Miles Award (Tia Chucha Press, 2001); M-A-C-N-O-L-I-A, (2005), which was listed as one the Best Books of 2005 by The London Times; Quantum Lyrics, (2007); and The Cineaste, (2013), W.W. Norton & Co. Jordan has been awarded a Whiting Writers Award, an Anisfield-Wolf Book Award, and a Pushcart Prize. He is also the recipient of a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship, and a United States Artists Fellowship.

Jordan has taught at a number of academic institutions including the University of North Carolina Greensboro, The University of Texas at Austin, and the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor; he currently serves as the Henry Rutgers Presidential Professor at Rutgers University-Newark.

Prizes, Awards & Fellowships
  • 2015 Lannan Literary Award for Poetry
  • 2016