Site Search

Cyrus Cassells

Cyrus Cassells is the author of a number of collections of poetry, including the National Poetry Series winning The Mud Actor (1982), Soul Make a Path through Shouting (1994), which won the William Carlos Williams Prize and was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize, Beautiful Signor (1997), which won a Lambda Literary Award, More Than Peace and Cypresses (2004), and The Crossed-Out Swastika (2012). A book of his translations of the Catalan poet Francesc Parcerisas, Still Life With Children: Selected Poems of Francesc Parcerisas, is forthcoming. Cassells has received a Lannan Literary Award, two NEA grants, and a Pushcart Prize. He is professor of English at Texas State University-San Marcos and has served on the faculty of Cave Canem.

Prizes, Awards & Fellowships
  • 1993 Lannan Literary Award for Poetry
  • 2008