Site Search

Photo by Don J. Usner

Eileen Myles

Photo by Don J. Usner

Eileen Myles is a poet, novelist, and art journalist whose practice of vernacular first-person writing has made them one of the most recognized writers of their generation. Their fiction includes Chelsea Girls (1994) which won France’s Inrockuptibles Prize for best foreign novel, Cool for You (2000), Inferno (a poet’s novel) (2010), and Afterglow (2017). Their writing on art was collected in the volume The Importance of Being Iceland: Travel Essays in Art (2009). Books of poetry include A "Working Life" (2023), Evolution (2018), and I Must Be Living Twice: New and Selected Poems 1975-2014. They also edited the anthology Pathetic Literature (2022).

Myles' many honors include grants from the Warhol | Creative Capital Arts Writers Program, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the Foundation for Contemporary Art; three book awards and a Pioneer Award from Lambda Literary; the Shelley Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America; and the Clark Award for excellence in art writing. In 2021 they were elected to the American Academy of Arts & Letters. They live in New York and in Marfa, TX.

  • 2015