Frank X Walker

photo of Frank X Walker

Frank X Walker is the author of five collections of poetry including Buffalo Dance: The Journey of York (2003), which won the Lillian Smith Book Award; Isaac Murphy: I Dedicate This Ride (2010); and Turn Me Loose: The Unghosting of Medgar Evers (2013). He is a co-founder of the Affrilachian Poets and the editor of Pluck! The Journal of Affrilachian Arts & Culture. A recipient of a Lannan Literary Fellowship, Walker was the 2013-2014 poet laureate of Kentucky, and in 2014 he received an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Literary Work in Poetry. He is a professor of English at the University of Kentucky.

Frank X Walker elsewhere on

Frank X Walker, (Literary: Awards, Fellowships, and Grants)
Frank X Walker, (Residency)
Cave Canem Evening, (Events)
Frank X Walker, (Residency)

Search by Last Name