Site Search

Herbert Morris

Herbert Morris (1928-2001) was educated at Brooklyn College. He published six collections of poetry during his lifetime: Nine Iridescent Figures on a Vase (1978), Peru (1983), Afghanistan (1984), Dream Palace (1986), The Little Voices of the Pears (1989), and What Was Lost (2000). A poet of unique narrative power and subtlety, Mr. Morris’ work is marked by its elegant and incantatory language. He received a Lannan Literary Fellowship in 1991 and a Lannan Literary Award in 2000.

Prizes, Awards & Fellowships
  • 2000 Lannan Literary Award for Poetry
  • 1991 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Poetry