Site Search

Larry Woiwode

Larry Woiwode (1941 - 2022) was born in North Dakota and began his writing life under the mentorship of the New Yorker editor William Maxwell. He was the author of numerous novels including Beyond the Bedroom Wall, a finalist for both the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award; What I Think I Did: A Season of Survival in Two Acts, winner of the William Faulkner Foundation Award; Poppa John; Born Brothers; Indian Affairs; and Silent Passengers. In 2020 he was appointed Writer in Residence at the the University of Mary in Bismarck, North Dakota, where he lectured and taught until his death.

Prizes, Awards & Fellowships
  • 2002 Lannan Literary Fellowship for Fiction
  • 2003