Site Search

Photo by Don J. Usner

Louise Glück

Photo by Don J. Usner

Louise Glück (1943-2023) was the author of over a dozen books of poetry including Faithful and Virtuous Night (winner of the National Book Award for Poetry) and the anthology Poems: 1962-2012.

Glück taught at Williams College for 20 years and was an adjunct professor of English and Rosenkranz Writer-in-Residence at Yale University. She was a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and in 1999 was elected a Chancellor of the Academy of American Poets. Her books of poetry include A Village Life (2009), The Seven Ages (2001), and The Wild Iris (1992), for which she received the Pulitzer Prize. Louise Glück said of writing, “[It] is not decanting of personality. The truth, on the page, need not have been lived. It is, instead, all that can be envisioned.”

A former Poet Laureate of the United States, Glück received the 2020 Nobel Prize in Literature "for her unmistakable poetic voice that with austere beauty makes individual existence universal."

Prizes, Awards & Fellowships
  • 1999 Lannan Literary Award for Poetry