Marlon James

photo of Marlon James

Marlon James’s A Brief History of Seven Killings was the winner of the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction, making him the first Jamaican writer to receive the UK’s most prestigious literary award. It was also a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award and won the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature for fiction, the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award for fiction, the Minnesota Book Award, and was a New York Times Notable Book

His latest book, Black Leopard, Red Wolf, was a finalist for the 2019 National Book Award and named a Best Book of 2019 by the Wall Street Journal, TIME, NPR, GQ, Vogue, and the Washington Post.

James is also the author of The Book of Night Women, which won the 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize and the Minnesota Book Award, and was a finalist for the 2010 National Book Critics Circle Award in fiction and an NAACP Image Award.

His first novel, John Crow’s Devil, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for first fiction and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, and was a New York Times Editors’ Choice. James divides his time between Minnesota and New York.

Marlon James elsewhere on

Marlon James with Russell Banks, (Events)

Search by Last Name