Site Search

Photo by NyeLynTho

NoViolet Bulawayo

Photo by NyeLynTho

NoViolet Bulawayo is the author of the novels Glory (Viking, 2022), which was shortlisted for the 2022 Booker Prize, and We Need New Names (Reagan Arthur Books, 2013), which was shortlisted for the 2013 Man Booker Prize and recognized with the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, the Pen/Hemingway Award, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction, the Etisalat Prize for Literature, the Fred Brown Literary Award, the Betty Trask Award, and the Barnes and Noble Discover Award (second place). She has also won the Caine Prize for African Writing and a National Book Award’s ‘5 Under 35’.

Bulawayo grew up in Zimbabwe and moved to Kalamazoo, Michigan, when she was 18. She earned her MFA at Cornell University where she was a recipient of a Truman Capote Fellowship, and was also a Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, where she taught fiction.

  • 2019