Pattiann Rogers

photo of Pattiann Rogers

Pattiann Rogers is considered one of America’s finest contemporary poets, writing densely detailed, thickly textured poems describing the natural world and one’s place in it that are informed by a broad knowledge of science. In the tradition of Emerson, Whitman, and Oliver, Rogers’s wise and complex poems read like a series of witty but deeply felt explorations of the physical world and the presence of the divine.

She is the author of fourteen books of poetry including her newest collection Wayfare. Firekeeper: Selected Poems (2005), Generations (2004), and Song of the World Becoming: New and Collected Poems, 1981-2001 are some of her others. Her awards include two National Endowment for the Arts grants, a Guggenheim Award, the Tietjens Prize and the Hokin Prize from Poetry magazine, and four Pushcart Prizes.

She lives with her husband, a retired geophysicist, in Colorado.


Pattiann Rogers elsewhere on Lannan.org

Pattiann Rogers, (Literary: Awards, Fellowships, and Grants)
Pattiann Rogers, (Literary: Awards, Fellowships, and Grants)
Pattiann Rogers with Christopher Merrill, (Events)
Walt Whitman Tribute Evening, (Events)


Search by Last Name